News & Events

2024 

January

Monday 1st January

Start of Veganuary a great opportunity to try adopting a vegan diet.

Thursday 11th January, 7pm – 9pm.

New Leaf Natter in the Snug at The Swan, 11 West Street, Alresford. A chance to come and meet other New Leaf members, exchange ideas and work on local projects. This month we will discussing plans for 2024 including the community growing project at the allotment.

Wednesday 17th January Start of Big Energy Saving Week. A national campaign to help people cut their fuel bills. 

Friday 26th – 28th January

RSPB Big Garden Bird Watch.

 

February

Friday 2nd February

World Wetlands Day raising global awareness about the vital role of wetlands for people and our planet.

Thursday 8th February, 7pm – 9pm.

New Leaf Natter in the Snug at The Swan, 11 West Street, Alresford. A chance to come and meet other New Leaf members, exchange ideas and work on local projects.

 

March

Monday 4th March

Start of Food Waste Action Week focusing on reducing food waste and ideas to share surplus food.

Thursday 14h March, 7pm – 9pm.

New Leaf Natter in the Snug at The Swan, 11 West Street, Alresford. A chance to come and meet other New Leaf members, exchange ideas and work on local projects.

Monday 18th March

Global Recycling Day. This year’s theme is celebrating ‘Recycling Heroes’.

Friday 15th March

Start of The Great British Spring Clean and School Clean week. National litter picking event cleaning up streets, parks, schools and beaches.

Thursday 21st March

International Day of Forests. This day celebrates forests and raises awareness of their importance.

Friday 22nd March

World Water Day. Events highlighting the link between water and climate change.

Saturday March

Alresford Town Litter Pick. Arlebury Park, Alresford.

 

April

Tuesday 2nd April  

Start of International Dark Sky Week. A week where people turn out their lights in order to observe the beauty of the night sky without light pollution.

Friday 5th April

Walk to Work Day. 

Sunday 7th April

World Health Day. Events to focus worldwide attention on global health, and highlight priority areas of concern for the World Health Organisation. 

Thursday 11th April, 7pm – 9pm.

New Leaf Natter in the Snug at The Swan, 11 West Street, Alresford. A chance to come and meet other New Leaf members, exchange ideas and work on local projects.

Tuesday 16th April

Start of Discover National Parks Fortnight.

Friday 22nd April
Earth Day.  Celebrated around the world to demonstrate support for environmental protection.

Wednesday 24th April

Stop Food Waste Day. Raising awareness of the global food waste crisis.

 

May

Wednesday 1st May

‘No Mow May‘ An annual challenge to let the flowers bloom on your lawn helping to provide a vital source of nectar for bees and other insects. 

Start of National Walking Month.

Start of National Gardening Week. A celebration of gardening.

Sunday 5th May

Start of International Compost Awareness week.

International Dawn Chorus Day. Early morning events to hear the dawn chorus.

Thursday 9th May, 7pm – 9pm.

New Leaf Natter in the Snug at The Swan, 11 West Street, Alresford. A chance to come and meet other New Leaf members, exchange ideas and work on local projects.

Saturday 11th May

World Fair Trade Day.

Sunday 19th May

Watercress Festival

Monday 20th May

Start of Walk to School Week. A week of events encouraging children to walk to school.

World Bee Day

Water Saving Week. Promoting water conservation.

Saturday 25th May

Start of Children’s National Gardening Week. Celebrating the fun that gardens hold for children.

 

June

Monday 3rd June

Butterfly Education and Awareness Day. To raise awareness of butterflies and how important they are as pollinators. 

Wednesday 5th June

World Environmental Day.

Start of National Growing for Wellbeing Week.  A celebration of gardening and growing your own produce.

Saturday 8th June

World Oceans Day.

Monday 10th June

Start of Bike Week. A celebration of cycling.

Thursday 13th June, 7pm – 9pm.

New Leaf Natter in the Snug at The Swan, 11 West Street, Alresford. A chance to come and meet other New Leaf members, exchange ideas and work on local projects.

Friday 14th June

Brake’s Kids Walk. Events to promote road safety and the health and planet-saving benefits of walking.

Friday 16th June

National Refill Day. Increasing awareness of choosing refills over single use plastic bottles.

Tuesday 18th June

Sustainable Gastronomy Day. Emphasizing the need to focus the world’s attention on the role that sustainable gastronomy can play.

Thursday 2oth June
 

July

Monday 1st July

Start of Plastic Free July. A global movement advocating refusing single use plastics. 

Wednesday 3rd July

International Plastic Bag Free Day. A day of action to raise awareness of the environmental impact and hazards of single-use plastic bags, and promote more sustainable solutions.

Thursday 11th July, 7pm – 9pm

‘New Leaf Natter’ in the Snug at The Swan, 11 West Street, Alresford. A chance to come and meet other New Leaf members, exchange ideas and work on local projects.

Saturday 27th July

Start of National Marine Week. Events to celebrate all things marine.

 

August

Thursday 8th August, 7pm – 9pm

‘New Leaf Natter’ in the Snug at The Swan, 11 West Street, Alresford. A chance to come and meet other New Leaf members, exchange ideas and work on local projects.

Monday 12th August

Start of National Allotments Week. Raising awareness of allotments and the role they play in helping people to live healthier lifestyles, grow their own food, develop friendships and bolster communities. 

 

September

Sunday 1st September
Start of Organic September. Encouraging more people to try organic and promoting organic food & farming practices. 
 
Saturday 7th September, 9am – 6pm
The Alresford Show. Agricultural Show at the Tichborne Estate.
 

Monday 9th September

Start of Fairtrade Fortnight. Events across the UK to raise funds and highlight the exploitation of workers across the world.

Thursday 12th September, 7pm – 9pm

‘New Leaf Natter’ in the Snug at The Swan, 11 West Street, Alresford. A chance to come and meet other New Leaf members, exchange ideas and work on local projects.

Monday 16th September
Start of European Mobility Week. Promoting sustainable transport.
 
Friday 20th September
Start of the Great British Beach Clean. National beach litter pick event organised by the Marine Conservation Society. 
 
September
Start of Winchester Green Week.
 

October

Tuesday 1st October
 
International Walk to School Month.
 
Monday 2nd October

Thursday 1oth October, 7pm – 9pm

‘New Leaf Natter’ in the Snug at The Swan, 11 West Street, Alresford. A chance to come and meet other New Leaf members, exchange ideas and work on local projects.

 

November

Saturday 4th November, 10:00 – 15:00, New Leaf Alresford Eco Fair

Stalls, speakers, quizzes, games and prizes.

Thursday 9th November, 19.30

‘New Leaf Natter’ in the Snug at The Swan, 11 West Street, Alresford. A chance to come and meet other New Leaf members, exchange ideas and work on local projects.

 

December

Wednesday 4th December. 5pm  – 9pm

Arrival of Father Christmas and late Night Shopping, Broad Street Alresford.

Thursday 12th December, 7pm – 9pm  

‘New Leaf Natter’ in the Snug at The Swan, 11 West Street, Alresford. A chance to come and meet other New Leaf members, exchange ideas and work on local projects.